Posted on April 14, 2012

The Qatar Tennis Federation will host the 2012 Asia/Oceania Zone Group IV Davis Cup by BNP Paribas tie at the Khalifa International Tennis and Squash Complex beginning on Monday, April 16th, 2012.

Davis Cup is the international team tennis competition sanctioned by the International Tennis Federation. In 2011, 130 nations entered Davis Cup by BNP Paribas, making it the world's largest annual international team competition in sport.

Davis Cup is structured with a 16-nation World Group, contested over four weekends during the year. The remaining countries are then divided into three regional Zones depending on their location.

As a Zone Group IV tie, Qatar will be host to 10 nations competing in two pools. The top nation in each pool plays off against the runner-up in the other pool with the two winning nations promoted to Asia/Oceania Zone Group III for 2013. Ties are contested in a best-of-three rubbers format and are played on one day. There are two singles followed by a doubles. Due to the multi-nation format, ties take place on successive days.

Nations participating in next week’s competition here in Doha include: Bahrain, Iraq, Jordan, Myanmar, Singapore, Saudi Arabia, Turkmenistan, UAE, Qatar and Cambodia. Cambodia is making its Davis Cup debut in this tie. The Qatar team will consist of: Jabor Ali-Mutawa, Mousa Zayed, Abdulrahman Al Harib, Mubarek Shannan and team Captain, Jassem Mulla.

Qatar made its Davis Cup debut in 1992 and has played in Asia/Oceania Zone Group II on three occasions. Qatar first hosted a Davis Cup tie in 1993, followed again in 1994, 1997 (all Group III Round Robin) and 1999 (Group II First Round). Last year, Qatar finished seventh in Asia/Oceania Zone Group IV in 2011, following a 2-0 win over Turkmenistan in the seventh/eighth place play-off.