Posted on March 11, 2017

Qatar University (QU) will host the "IREG Forum 2017: "Excellence as the University Driving Force" on March 13th -14th. 

The two-day conference, to be held for the first time in the region, is organized in collaboration with IREG Observatory on Academic Ranking and Excellence (IREG Observatory). It aims to provide a platform to discuss the various aspects of academic excellence, and to learn about new initiatives in academic rankings. 

QU Chief Strategy and Development Officer Dr Darwish Al Emadi, said, "In partnering in this important forum, QU is reinforcing its position as a leader in academic and research excellence in the Gulf and MENA region to advance the dialogue on ranking and excellence in the higher education sector. QU is well-placed to host this forum with IREG and we look forward to the expert discussions and recommendations that will emerge from it." IREG Observatory Managing Director Dr Kazimierz Bilanow said, "By organizing this international conference on academic rankings and university excellence at Qatar University, IREG Observatory recognizes the growing importance of Qatar and other Gulf countries on the global landscape of higher education and research.

The presence of high-level representatives of academic life from 35 countries at IREG Forum proves above view. It is our collective expectation that this positive link with Qatar and its university will be continued also after the forum." Keynote speakers will discuss "Excellence in Higher Education and its role in Qatar National Vision 2030" and "Benefits and excesses in the use of rankings" in addition to "Excellence in the context of cultural and economic transformations", "Principles of "excellence" in various academic disciplines and institutional settings", "International rankings and their regional variations: Experience of the Arab Region rankings [and beyond]".

It also includes a number of presentations delivered by speakers from many countries such as Qatar, Brazil, China, India, Indonesia, Kazakhstan, Poland, Portugal, Saudi Arabia, Slovenia, South Africa, Turkey, United Arab Emirates, United Kingdom, and the U.S.