Posted on September 10, 2019

The Executive Committee of the Qatar Football Association (QFA) decided on Monday to increase the number of second division clubs to 8 from next season by accepting the registration of Al Nasr and Lusail clubs for the first time in the competition.

In doing so, the clubs participating in the new season include Al Kharaitiyat, Al Markhiya, Mesaimeer, Al Shamal, Muaither and Al Bidda, in addition to the two new clubs. The competition system provides for the establishment of the league in two phases. The decision to increase the second division clubs has been done to expand the game and develop the sport to a bigger audience.

Click here to check the match schedule of the Second Division League, season 2019-20.